Thursday, March 26, 2026

The Diversion

It started, as these things often do: hey that's neat!

And it turned into a project.

Because as it turns out, people have made actual versions of this format in paper. Some of them going all out, with a cabinet that has every card, but others with a more manageable idea. 

Which is what I did! The results of which turned into a 17 page document. My guideposts for my Momir Vig Basic format? For mana values 1-6, I kept the format Pioneer legal, after that in order to fill things out I needed to make things Legacy legal. But who doesn't want to see a Bringer at 9 mana??? Energy, pirates, and minotaurs, cards with activated abilities, with the occasional 'does nothing' card. I mostly avoided cards that added mana or drew cards and I included a little recursion-the online format creates tokens but here I wanted the occasional Gravedigger to be useful.

And that got all messed up when I saw this video and was informed that unless players were willing to skip activations of Momir, anything above the 7 mana value slot would be out of reach!

Still, I'm going to get this sleeved up soon and see what happens. I'm psyched for this one!

Tuesday, March 24, 2026

Swim With The Fishes

 Last year I started working on the merfolk deck I had, only to realize that there would probably be some cool new merfolk released in Lorwyn Eclipsed. That suggested I should table Piranacon until that set came out and then see what I could do with iit.

Now that Lorwyn Eclipsed is out....the merfolk are a whole lot of meh. 

I've tried some different configurations of the deck and the big problem is none of them feel good. I'm just goldfishing and the deck doesn't do anything. 

And it has me wondering if there's something I can do to change that.

2 Lord of Atlantis
3 Tidal Courier
2 Galina's Knight
3 Merrow Reejerey
1 True-Name Nemesis
2 Svyelun of Sea and Sky
3 Sygg, Wanderwine Wisdom
3 Deepchannel Duelist
1 Deepway Navigator

4 Plumes of Peace

4 Counterspell
2 Emergency Eject
2 Opt
3 Shelter

3 Plains
3 Wanderwine Hub
4 Tundra
13 Island

2 Sygg's Command

I'm considering just retiring the idea. In part because as a person who's been playing this game for thirty years, I feel like I should have a merfolk deck instead of enjoying the play patterns

Which is a pretty silly way to go about it, isn't it? 

Maybe this would be an excellent deck to translate into Commander: I could make it WUG and have access to a lot more shenanigans without having to feel 'serious'. 

The cards I'm thinking of for that commander would be Brenard, Amareth or Morska.

Tuesday, March 17, 2026

Late To The Party: Dispatch

 After reading some VERY hype posts about Dispatch, I gave it a go.

It's pretty good. Game of the year? Not quite sure about that.

The story is solid, the voice acting and animation is good and I thought there was a game there too. It wasn't just a story with prompts. 

The gameplay breaks down into the following columns; dialog/action choices, sending heroes on missions, and hacking.

Of these, one and a third of them are given the short shift-and it has impacts on the rest of the game. 

Obviously, you have plenty of time with dialog choices; the player has those in every chapter. However, when the action prompts appear, they only do so in the beginning and the end of the game, so I didn't have much experience with it and ended up missing prompts I felt I would have gotten otherwise. 

The hacking game is both on a timer and has a fail state, so there are two ways to blow it. But I never felt like I was given enough information to succeed at the task at hand. There were multiple times where I just hit the fail state and felt like there was nothing I could have done about that. 

In addition, I wasn't made aware of the consequences of that failure from a gameplay point of view. 

Finally, when sending heroes on missions I felt like I didn't have all the information I needed to send the right hero for the job. There would be keywords associated with the missions, but the corroborating info via the heroes wasn't so easily seen. 

Nevertheless, I enjoyed the experience! I'm not sure I'd play it again, but I'm glad I gave it a shot. 


Thursday, March 12, 2026

Late To The Party: Resident Evil: Requiem

I just finished the latest Resident Evil game and I have to say: they do a lot right. 

There's a good balance of scary parts to action parts-Clare and Leon's sections respectively. Clare's gameplay is full of tension and trying to make smart choices about your limited resources. Leon's is about maxing out the damage output in fun ways. 

I especially enjoyed how the stories would overlap and there were a few-albeit small-opportunities for one character to help another. 

The gameplay is solid too, each character behaving in a manner that befits their skills. 

However

There are two very disagreeable things about Requiem. 

The first is the voice acting for Clare. I want to be clear: I'm not blaming the actress. She sounds very scared. But the choice to have her stammer 95% of her dialog is bad. It works for the opening section where the player is learning the game mechanics, conveying how frightened she is. Then it becomes increasingly grating as the game goes on.

My first playthrough was a little over 14 hours. I hated hearing that actress speak by the time it was done.

Now I need to talk about the ending and that is going to involve ALL THE SPOILERS. You have been warned.






OK here we go. 

At the very last moment, the player is given a choice, one that has a meaningful impact on the ending. That's right; there are two endings: A gloomy one that is disastrously anti-climatic, or a triumphant one using Leon's gameplay for an action-oriented finale. 

The action oriented one feels OK but even then the fight isn't terribly interesting. It is at least against the correct character; the one who has been plaguing the player for most of the game. Emotionally; that is fulfilling. But it doesn't play very well as an action piece. 

Which ending should you chose? The game doesn't give you any context, there's no buildup for this, no layering of information to help the player make a choice. There aren't any signals that the player WILL have to make a choice. So it feels like a trick that's pulled on the player, as opposed to a meaningful decision. 

Then, as soon as the credits roll the player is asked if they'd like to start at the last save and just play the other ending. Now I agree with this, since it's what I was going to do anyway and this saves me the trouble of having to go to the loading screen. 

But doing this cuts anything out at the knees because neither of the endings matter! I felt cheated and irate.

However, the ending aside, I found the game to be a lot of fun and will likely give it another go! (If I have time).

Tuesday, March 10, 2026

Treeless Cul-de-sac

Well....this went a lot better than I had planned. I'm not upset about it! 

I don't know who approved Risky Shortcut but...how is this just not better than any other Black spell doing the same thing? I draw two cards and YOU lose two life? (Yes I lose two life too but I was going to lose it anyway).

Decode Transmissions comes close but I'd have to jump through hoops. 

Still, I think I like this:

4 Jet Medallion
1 Nightmare

2 Korlash, Heir to Blackblade
1 Ihsan's Shade
1 Reiver Demon
1 Visara the Dreadful
2 Magus of the Coffers
1 Maga, Traitor to Mortals
3 Twisted Abomination
1 Phyrexian Obliterator
1 Griselbrand
2 Black Cat

4 Heartless Act

21 Swamp
2 Cabal Coffers

3 Forced March
3 Drain Life
3 Hymn to Tourach
4 Risky Shortcut

Reiver Demon is probably the weakest creature in the bunch, actually. When it works it's pretty great, but the successful targets for it just aren't what they used to be. Still, this has been a fun deck to play. Is it great? No-I'd probably give it a B-. It can do a lot but there are times when the deck gives me a handful of nothing to do. Still quite enjoyable overall though.





Thursday, March 5, 2026

A Hostile Climate

Let's get back on track.

With ten cards to add, I took a look at the deck and made some decisions. 

First; I needed a way to disrupt my opponent. Second, I needed a way to draw cards. 

Which lead me to the following additions: 3 Hymn to Tourach 2 Black Cat, 1 Griselbrand and 4 Risky Shortcut.

Of those, only Griselbrand is more than 3 mana and as a beatstick you'd be hard pressed to do better. 

The rest all keep my costs low so that I have something to do in the early game, either to set me up, or stalling until I make it to the point where I can cast my haymakers. 



Tuesday, March 3, 2026

Free Pizza: Guardians Vol 2

 I used last month's tech to beat this month's tech.

Shao-Lao deck

Ghost is the flex slot, but this is what I ran when the new Proscenium location was hot. I am not above taking advantage of a good thing.

The other thing I'm not above is finding ways to double up on Shang-Chi. With so many players utilizing the new Star Lord and Fang Foom, being able to take out 2 or 3 characters can really change the game. Absorbing Man can also repeat Shou-Lao's ability, which is not to be overlooked!

However, right now the meta is adapting with a TON of Stardust, so be careful about adding Scarlet Spider.